Clare’s Rock

12Dec10

It is a rock that I found on the site of the Sea Castle located in Sidon Lebanon. The castle was built by the Crusaders in 1228 AD. This is one of the most humble and quaint but powerful and beautiful castles I have seen in all of my travels of the world. I loved how inside the castle felt like an MC Escher drawing, and I went to this castle at a point of life that was pretty dark. I enjoyed standing on the top of the castle and watching the Mediterranean Sea push waves against the side of the ruined structure. This instantly became one of my favorite locations, so the rock represents that place in my house back in Chicago. The Sea Castle is a memory that is protected and a place I go to for safe harbor, also when it is really cold in Chicago I think back to how perfect the weather and the sun felt the day I was at the Sea Castle in Lebanon.

I live in Chicago, and I photographed the rock with Lake Michigan behind it. This photograph becomes a self portrait of me, carrying my good memories back home and resting with another body of water on the other side of the world.

No Responses Yet to “Clare’s Rock”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

